Go To Search
Click to Home
Find a Department
Preparedness Academy
 Preparedness Academy 2017
 disaster First Aid  Psychological First Aid  PC NET youth on phone.jpg House damaged from earthquake 
 Disaster First Aid Psychological First Aid Communications/Radio Earthquake Retrofit 
 Learn skills and get hands-on experience in how to perform immediate triage, and use disaster first aid following an event. A First Aid Certificate is awarded, no CPR unless indicated at registration.  Recommend taking CPR before this class. All classes are on Saturday.
 People's reactions to crisis vary. Learn which reactions are harmful and how some are actually beneficial. Take away some important tools you can use to connect with affected people and provide immediate emotional support following an emergency. Understand the basics of using radio communications in a disaster and get hands-on practice with others in the group. This is a great way to get comfortable using the “walkie-talkie” style of communication in a disaster.     Information on how to get a HAM license is included.       
 
Homeowners can take steps to reduce the earthquake hazard to their homes. Learn about home retrofitting as a mitigation process for protecting your house.
Be ready for the Big One and learn about, home evaluation, permit process, proper bolt and plate installation and engineering solutions. 
Scheduled Classes  Scheduled Classes  
Scheduled Classes 
 
Scheduled Classes 
Time: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
              
April 22, Sat. Pierce County EOC 2501 So. 35th St, Tacoma

June 10, Sat. Buckley Fire and Rescue 611 Division St, Buckley

October 28, Sat. Gig Harbor

Nov 4, Sat. Bonney Lake

Nov 18- Puyallup
Time: 6 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

April 8, Sat.  The Chapel,  37117 103rd Ave. Ct. E. Eatonville

May 23, Tues. Puyallup Library

Sept 12, Tues. University Place

October 10, Tues. Gig Harbor

November 7, Tues Graham Fire Station 94 -23014 70th Ave East Graham  
Time: 6 p.m. - 8 p.m.

April 10, Monday-401 Washington Ave SE, Orting OVFR and City Police Station meeting room.

October 26,Thurs. Gig Harbor

November TBD- Bonney Lake
Time 6:30 p.m.- 8 p.m. 

April 5, Wed. Puyallup Library

May 17, Wed. Eatonville
REGISTER  REGISTER REGISTER REGISTER